Villa de Los Realejos
- Arquitectura Religiosa. Capillas -

This building located on the edge of the Dornajo ravine was built in the third quarter of the twentieth century instead occupied by an old cross, is included within the group of chapels dedicated to the dissemination and devotion to the Holy wood in Los Realejos, tradition which is closely linked to two historical facts, the first one we can look for in the conquest of the island of Tenerife in 1496 and the placement of a wooden cross in what will later be the temple of Santiago Ap stol, of which Remains are preserved within the silver filigree cross of (1677) that houses the aforementioned temple. Meanwhile, the second fact can be associated with the foundation at the beginning of the 17th century of the convent of Santa Lucia belonging to the Franciscan Order, which led to those friars placing crosses in different places away from the population centers establishing their own V a Crucis.

Capilla de Cruz del Calvario

Building nestled on the edge of a ravine and with a rectangular plan and sloping roof of Arabic tile, it houses a cross inside. Its front framed by two side pilasters stacked in stone and topped with a diamond point, houses a half-point opening, housing the typical two-leaf swinging door with decorative wooden balusters in its two upper thirds and surrounded by stone molding. An ass opens over it, being topped by the triangular shaped sill and stone sill topped by a wooden cross.

Capilla de Cruz del Calvario


Icod el Alto AREA

ADDRESS El Calvario


X 342356.58

And 3140941.41

Los Realejos PGO , Protection Logo, Los Realejos, 2013. u2013 In initial approval phase.

Descripción Documento Descargar Documento

No existe/n Bien/es Relacionado/s