Villa de Los Realejos
- Arquitectura Religiosa. Capillas -

Dated in the twentieth century, the patrimonial interest of the chapel focuses on its social function, its use and sentimental value, rather than the architectural value itself. This building belongs to the group of chapels dedicated to the diffusion and devotion to the Santo madero in Los Realejos, a tradition that is closely linked to two historical facts, the first one we can look for in the conquest of the island of Tenerife in 1496 and the placement of a wooden cross in what will later be the temple of Santiago Ap stol, of which remains are still preserved within the silver filigree cross of (1677) that houses the aforementioned temple. Meanwhile, the second fact can be associated with the foundation at the beginning of the 17th century of the convent of Santa Lucia belonging to the Franciscan Order, which led to those friars placing crosses in different places away from the population centers establishing their own V a Crucis.

Capilla de Cruz de la calle Cartaya

In a single construction piece the cross chapel is built on a rectangular floor reaching a unique height. Its main facade is characterized by being divided into two parts clearly divided by a cornice. The frontis where the access bay is located by means of a semicircular arch and the front n that ends the facade of concave-convex lines without battlements and the frontis set is finished off with a wooden cross. The wooden carpenter installed in this bay consists of two folding leaves. The set is closed with a gable roof of curved tile.

Capilla de Cruz de la calle Cartaya


AREA The Holy Cross

ADDRESS Calle la Cartaya, 3


X 346814.03

And 3140623.94

City Hall of the Villa de Los Realejos, ' Inventory of Real Estate of the Villa de Los Realejos. Tenerife Island ', Hon. Town Hall of the Villa de Los Realejos, 2012.

Descripción Documento Descargar Documento

No existe/n Bien/es Relacionado/s