Villa de Arafo
- Arquitectura Civil y Doméstica. Arquitectura Doméstica Rural -

This building probably has an origin linked to the initial settlement of the first settlers of Arafo, who are credited with the exploitation of the pine forest present on the hillside for logging, hence this area is known as the Sawmill . The eruption of the Arenas volcano in 1705, devastated the pine forest and the appearance of the Malpaes, caused part of the population to move further north. In 1871 the chapel of La Cruz was blessed, built at the initiative of Mr. Tom s P. rez Bencomo, in whose surroundings some historical buildings can be seen, linked to agricultural activities, and that near the street of the Cross, gave Departure to these through the old Plazuela del Llano.

It should be noted that despite its serious formal alterations, it forms a unique building set with numbers 20 and 24. Its origin can be traced back to the 17th century.

Calle La Cruz nº 22

Housing of two heights, of regular plant, that possibly in its beginning was a unique block with the adjacent housing.
At the rear of the property a series of modules have been annexed that give the whole greater volume.
On the facade it has two openings, one over the other, being the access door to the house and a window on the upper floor, possibly having changed the size of these openings, given the adjacent property.
The set is topped with a three-water roof of Arabic tile, while the existing annexes are of transitable flat roofs.

Calle La Cruz nº 22


AREA Historic Center

ADDRESS N La Cruz Street, No. 22


X 360,491.48

And 3,135,605.90

Calle La Cruz nº 22

VV AA: Heritage of the historic center of the town of Arafo , Final Master's Project in the rehabilitation of built heritage, CICOP, 2004.

Fari a Pestano, F : The History of Arafo , City Hall of Arafo. 2004

Descripción Documento Descargar Documento