Villa de Arafo
- Arquitectura Civil y Doméstica. Arquitectura Doméstica Rural -

This building probably has an origin linked to the initial settlement of the first settlers of Arafo, who are credited with the exploitation of the pine forest present on the hillside for logging, hence this area is known as the Sawmill . The eruption of the Arenas volcano in 1705, devastated the pine forest and the appearance of the Malpaes, caused part of the population to move further north. In 1871 the chapel of La Cruz was blessed, built at the initiative of Mr. Tom s P. rez Bencomo, in whose surroundings some historical buildings can be seen, linked to agricultural activities, and that near the street of the Cross, gave Departure to these through the old Plazuela del Llano.

It should be noted that despite its serious formal alterations, it forms a unique building set with numbers 22 and 24. Its origin can be traced back to the 17th century.

Calle La Cruz nº 20

Rectangular house of one or two heights, depending on the part of the house. At the rear of the property, a number of modules have been added to different sizes to increase the size of the house, leaving an irregular floor plan.
Access to the property is done by climbing steps, which have been repaired and modified.
The facade is rectangular, with three openings, giving cleanliness and simplicity to the whole. The carpenters have been replaced and / or restored, maintaining the original holes.
The set is closed with a roof to three waters, with curved tile.

Calle La Cruz nº 20


AREA Historic Center

ADDRESS N La Cruz Street, n 20


X 360,496.41

And 3,135,612.16

Calle La Cruz nº 20

VV AA: Heritage of the historic center of the town of Arafo, Final Master's Project in rehabilitation of built heritage, CICOP, 2004

Fari a Pestano, F : The History of Arafo , City Hall of Arafo. 2004

Descripción Documento Descargar Documento